One Lap at A Time

“…Let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus…” Hebrews 12:1-3

Before. I love that word in that verse. Things that are “before” us are things that God has already planned “before” we knew it was going to happen. But the dictionary also defines “before” as something in front of us.

I remember one day in college I was in the rec center running at the indoor track. As I continued to go around and around my mind began to drift other places.

My goal for this particular run was 2.5 miles, which is about 15 laps around the indoor track. Now, for those of you who know me, I’m not a distance runner…AT ALL. After I would run a 400-meter race I’d be dead for a few days, (that was an all out sprint though. I’m trying to justify it ) but since the previous summer I had really wanted a challenge.

My track career consisted of the shorter distances, and sprinting as fast as I can to get from point A to point B. After about six laps on the track that day I decided to change my mindset. Instead of counting down the laps I had remaining, I chose to focus on the lap I was on.

One lap at a time.

As I continued to run, enjoying the things God was speaking to me, I thought about how much we tend to think about the future. We look to the future as something to work towards. Goals maybe? Which are great to strive for, but if we are seeing it as something better than what we are experiencing to get there, we are missing out.  We can look so much ahead of ourselves and forget about the blessings we have today, remembering this day, this hour, this minute, this second is one to celebrate and be excited about. Yes, there can be pain as we’re running this race of life, we will have hard times for each lap in our life, but God tells us “For the sake of Christ, then, I am content with weaknesses, insults, hardships, persecutions, and calamities. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”—2 Corinthians 12:10

Sometimes an injury can cause you to stop and enter the rest of God.

Hebrews 12:1-3 says “Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, fixing our eyes on Jesus, the author and perfecter of faith, who for the joy set before Him endured the cross, despising the shame, and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God. For consider Him who has endured such hostility by sinners against Himself, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.”

I love this verse so much. It first reminds us to remember all of the people who have endured things just like we are today. Hebrews chapter 11 is about the great hall of faith and people in the Bible that went through things like we all do. We are surrounded by a cloud of witnesses who have rejoiced, struggled, and have laid aside the sin, which so easily entangles us. We have encouragement!! How great is it to know that we are not the only ones that feel the way we do sometimes. Secondly, when we lay aside the sin that so easily entangles us, we are able to run with endurance. If you have something in your life that is holding you down and back from being who God has called you to be, it’s harder to run, but when we lay it (whatever that “It” is in your life) aside and give it all to Jesus who has already conquered it all…we can get through anything. One of the most powerful things about this verse is to fix our eyes on Jesus, which is the core of this devotion…because when we do, we can enjoy every minute that we’ve been given. “This is the day the LORD has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” psalm 118:24. When our attitudes are changed to being thankful and remembering the things we have, we enjoy the moment more. Sometimes I dread running, but then I remember what a blessing it is to have legs, and to run and be able to think about things and clear my head and see the beauty outside. When I started being thankful and focusing on the things God has blessed me with already, I am able to love others more like Christ has loved us. “For consider Him who has endured such hostility by sinners against Himself, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart.”

Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more important than food, and the body more important than clothes? Matthew 6:25

Praise God that we don’t have to worry about tomorrow. Even though I do worry, sometimes more than I should, these things are a good reminder to focus running this race one lap at a time.

Life’s a marathon, not a sprint. Let’s hold onto the hope we have in Jesus, knowing that he’ll take care of us one lap at a time.

Reflection:

Think about those things in your life that distract you from running one lap at a time and ask God to give you patience as you confidently trust that He, in His perfect time will work everything out.

Application Steps:

Make a list of things that you are excited about and surrender them to God in prayer. It’s great to be excited about things in the future, but it’s another thing to have them consume your thoughts. Spend some time in your devotion praying for opportunities to rejoice in what you have today and remember to take one day at a time.

by Tina

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a comment